NAD+ vs Adipotide: what the research compares
A comparison of the published research on NAD+ precursors and Adipotide, covering what each compound is, what studies measured, where the evidence is stronger, and what remains unknown.
What each compound is
Nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD+) is a redox coenzyme and signalling substrate that sits at the centre of cellular energy metabolism. In the research literature it is most often studied not as a directly administered molecule but through its precursors — nicotinamide riboside (NR), nicotinamide (a form of vitamin B3), and niacinamide riboside, which is the same entity as NR when applied topically. NAD+ is an endogenous dinucleotide; its molecular formula is C21H27N7O14P2 and its molecular weight is approximately 663.43 g/mol. The identifiers most frequently attached to precursor studies are the trial registration numbers rather than a single compound CAS number, because the interventions differ by salt, route and dose form.
Adipotide is a synthetic peptidomimetic compound, also referred to in the literature as a pro-apoptotic peptide, and is supplied for laboratory research as Adipotide. The pathway that the published work on these two compounds centres on differs: NAD+ research is organised around NAD+ salvage and redox metabolism, while Adipotide research is organised around a targeted vascular-homing motif directed at white adipose tissue vasculature.
Research Studies
NAD+ and measurement validation in healthy adults
A registered study set out to determine NAD levels in healthy adult subjects before and after supplementation with over-the-counter nicotinamide riboside, using magnetic resonance spectroscopy (MRS) as the measurement method [1]. The design is a measurement-validation study rather than an efficacy study: its purpose is to establish whether NAD+ levels can be tracked reliably in humans, which is a prerequisite for interpreting any downstream outcome data. This is the clearest example in the evidence set of work that addresses the assay rather than the effect.
NAD+ precursors and retinal nerve cell layer thickness in glaucoma
The NADIR trial is testing whether high-dose nicotinamide can protect retinal nerve cells in adults with primary open-angle glaucoma (POAG) who are already receiving standard eye drops or laser treatment [2]. The primary question is whether adding nicotinamide to standard therapy slows the rate of thinning of the inner retinal nerve cell layer, measured by a non-invasive eye scan, compared with standard therapy alone over 12 months [2]. Participants are randomised to two groups; the treatment group takes nicotinamide tablets by mouth starting at 1.5 grams per day [2]. This is a disease-population study with a structural imaging endpoint, not a body-composition study.
NAD+ precursors and walking distance in peripheral artery disease
The NICE-PAD II trial randomises 250 participants with peripheral artery disease (PAD) aged 50 and older to nicotinamide riboside or placebo for six months [3]. The hypothesis under test is that participants randomised to NR will show greater improvement or less decline in six-minute walk distance at six-month follow-up compared with placebo [3]. Secondary outcomes include the Walking Impairment Questionnaire distance score, the PROMIS Mobility score, and calf muscle perfusion measured by magnetic resonance arterial spin labelling [3]. This is the largest functional-endpoint study of an NAD+ precursor in the evidence set.
NAD+ precursors and milk volume in mothers of preterm infants
A separate study evaluates the feasibility and effects of nicotinamide riboside supplementation in lactating mothers of infants expected to be hospitalised in the neonatal intensive care unit for at least four weeks [7]. The stated aim is feasibility and effects on milk volume outcomes, which places it in a different category from the glaucoma and PAD trials: the population is lactating adults, and the outcome is a physiological production measure rather than a disease progression measure.
NAD+ precursors and facial skin ageing
Topical niacinamide riboside, also known as nicotinamide riboside, is described as an endogenous compound and a precursor to NAD+ [8]. The same source notes that skin NAD+ levels were reported to be negatively correlated with age in both males and females, and that aged skin was correlated with an increase in DNA damage, citing work by Maussudi et al. 2012 [8]. The proposed rationale is that supporting skin NAD+ with precursors such as NR may be a strategy to address DNA damage associated with visible signs of skin ageing [8]. The evidence here is topical and dermatological, and the cited correlation is observational.
NAD+ precursors and post-COVID syndrome
In patients with post-COVID syndrome, changes in tryptophan metabolism, energy metabolism and the gut microbiome may occur [5]. An earlier nutritional study reported that patients with COVID-19 recovered physical performance more quickly when taking nicotinamide, and that patients who responded to nicotinamide developed post-COVID syndrome less frequently [5]. Special nicotinamide tablets (CICR-NAM) were developed to release the active substance selectively in the lower intestine and have been reported as well tolerated in several studies [5]. The current observational study enrols patients with post-COVID syndrome and documented tryptophan deficiency [5].
Adipotide and the evidence base in this set
Within the evidence provided here, no study reports an outcome for Adipotide in a named population. The compound appears in this comparison as a research-supply item with a defined class and a defined proposed target — white adipose tissue vasculature — but the evidence block does not contain a trial registration, a measured endpoint, or a population in which an effect was observed. Any statement about what Adipotide does in humans or animals would therefore be unsupported by the sources available for this page, and none is made.
Reference-only context: mitochondrial homeostasis and fibrosis
One reference-only paper reports that Guizhi Wuling Decoction alleviates myocardial fibrosis by restoring mitochondrial homeostasis, using network pharmacology, molecular docking and multi-omics integration [9]. It is included as background on mitochondrial and fibrotic mechanisms that recur across metabolic research; it does not concern NAD+ precursors or Adipotide and is not the subject of this page.
Where the two compounds stand side by side
| Feature | NAD+ (and precursors NR / nicotinamide) | Adipotide |
|---|---|---|
| Class | Endogenous dinucleotide coenzyme; studied via precursors | Synthetic peptidomimetic, pro-apoptotic peptide |
| Identifiers in evidence | Formula C21H27N7O14P2; MW ~663.43 g/mol; trial registration numbers | Not specified in the evidence block |
| Pathway focus | NAD+ salvage and redox metabolism | Targeted vascular-homing motif directed at white adipose tissue vasculature |
| Human studies in this evidence set | Multiple registered studies: healthy adults [1], POAG [2], PAD [3], lactating mothers [7], topical skin [8], post-COVID syndrome [5] | None reported in this evidence set |
| Measured endpoints reported | NAD levels by MRS [1]; retinal nerve cell layer thickness [2]; six-minute walk distance, WIQ, PROMIS Mobility, calf muscle perfusion [3]; milk volume [7]; skin ageing signs [8]; physical performance and PCS incidence [5] | None reported in this evidence set |
| Populations named | Healthy adults, adults with POAG, adults 50+ with PAD, lactating mothers of preterm infants, adults with facial skin ageing, patients with post-COVID syndrome | None named in this evidence set |
| Route in the cited work | Oral (NR, nicotinamide) and topical (NR) [1][2][3][5][7][8] | Not specified in the evidence block |
Where the evidence is stronger
On the material available, the NAD+ precursor literature is the stronger of the two by a wide margin, and the reason is structural rather than qualitative. There are registered human studies with pre-specified primary endpoints in defined populations: inner retinal nerve cell layer thinning over 12 months in POAG [2], six-minute walk distance at six months in PAD [3], and NAD level measurement by MRS in healthy adults [1]. There are also feasibility and observational designs in lactating mothers [7] and in post-COVID syndrome [5], and a topical dermatological rationale supported by an observational age correlation [8].
For Adipotide, the evidence block supplies no study, no population and no measured value. That is not a finding that Adipotide is inactive or unsafe; it is a statement about what this particular evidence set contains. A comparison page can only compare what has been published and supplied, and on that basis the two compounds are not comparable in evidentiary weight.
What is simply not known
- Whether NAD+ precursor supplementation changes clinical outcomes, as opposed to measured NAD levels or intermediate markers. The trials listed here are designed to answer that question; the results are not in the evidence block [1][2][3].
- Whether the retinal, walking-distance, milk-volume and skin findings generalise to any population outside the ones studied [2][3][7][8].
- Whether the association between skin NAD+ and age is causal; the cited work is a correlation [8].
- Whether the earlier nicotinamide finding in COVID-19 patients, including the lower frequency of post-COVID syndrome among responders, replicates in the current observational setting [5].
- Anything at all about Adipotide's effects in a named population, because the evidence block contains no such study.
- How the two compounds would compare head to head, since no study in this evidence set administers both or measures them against a common endpoint.
If you are reading this for personal health reasons
The materials described here are sold for laboratory research only, and we do not provide dosing or medical guidance for any compound. Anyone considering a compound for themselves should speak to a licensed clinician. Nothing on this page is a recommendation, a dose, or a promise of an outcome.
Sources
- [1] Validation of NAD+ Measurements for Human Clinical Studies — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07416786
- [2] Nicotinamide for Retinal Protection in Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma (NADIR Trial) — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07808333
- [3] The NICE-PAD II Trial — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07782671
- [4] A Clinical Study of SHR-9839 as Monotherapy or in Combination With Chemotherapy Plus Adebrelimab Versus Chemotherapy Plus Adebrelimab in Patients With Advanced Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07751341
- [5] Observational Study With CICR-NAM as a Food for Special Medicinal Purposes in Post-COVID Syndrome (PCS) — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07798570
- [6] Rapid UTI Diagnostics in Lower Urinary Tract Dysfunction Among Catheter Users — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07784829
- [7] Milk Volume Outcomes Following Oral Nicotinamide Riboside Supplementation in Mothers of Extremely Preterm Infants — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04614714
- [8] Efficacy of Topical Niacinamide Riboside on the Signs of Facial Skin Aging — https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07774000
- [9] Guizhi Wuling Decoction alleviates myocardial fibrosis by restoring mitochondrial homeostasis: Evidence from network pharmacology, molecular docking, and multi-omics integration. — https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42462419/