Digital PNG artwork · delivered by email | Secure checkout · no physical shipping

What markers track muscle damage markers?

A research-use overview of the blood markers used to track exercise-induced muscle damage, and the supplement interventions studied against them.

The markers most commonly used to track exercise-induced muscle damage in the research literature are lactate dehydrogenase (LDH) and creatine kinase (CK), supported by secondary readouts including malondialdehyde (MDA), F2-isoprostanes, 8-OHdG, the glutathione ratio (GSH/GSSG), total antioxidant capacity by FRAP assay, antioxidant enzyme activity (SOD, CAT, GPx), and inflammatory markers such as hsCRP, MCP-1 and IL-6 [1]. These are blood-borne analytes, not direct measures of tissue injury; they are interpreted as indirect indices of sarcolemmal disruption and the downstream oxidative and inflammatory response to a damaging bout.

Synonyms in the literature include muscle damage biomarkers, exercise-induced muscle damage (EIMD) markers, and recovery markers. The evidence block for this page does not supply sequence, formula or molecular weight identifiers for the markers themselves; the identifiers given are trial registration numbers (NCT07024966, NCT06511960, NCT07765719) and the intervention compounds. The pathway context running through the cited work is the oxidative stress and inflammatory signalling axis — lipid peroxidation, DNA oxidation, endogenous antioxidant capacity, and cytokine response — measured before and after a controlled damaging exercise stimulus [1][2][3].

Research Studies

Pterostilbene cocrystal with silybin and nicotinamide riboside and post-exercise oxidative stress markers

A registered trial is evaluating a dietary supplement designated ccPT-SIL-NR, containing pterostilbene (ccPT), silybin (SIL) and nicotinamide riboside (NR), for its effect on oxidative stress markers after a high-intensity exercise session [1]. The primary objective is change in blood malondialdehyde (MDA) levels. Secondary objectives cover oxidative DNA damage (8-OHdG), lipid peroxidation (F2-isoprostanes), total antioxidant capacity (FRAP assay), the glutathione ratio (GSH/GSSG), antioxidant enzyme activity (SOD, CAT, GPx), inflammatory markers (hsCRP, MCP-1, IL-6), muscle damage markers (LDH, CK), cortisol, renal function (creatinine), and gene expression patterns [1].

This is the most directly relevant citation on this page for the question asked, because it names LDH and CK explicitly as muscle damage markers alongside the oxidative and inflammatory panel. It is a registered study record; the evidence block does not report results, effect sizes, or a completed population.

Astaxanthin and muscle damage markers after eccentric arm exercise

Astaxanthin (AX) is described in the cited record as a potent antioxidant and anti-inflammatory carotenoid. Research examining whether AX could counteract exercise-induced muscle damage and improve exercise capacity reported inconsistent results, which motivated the study described [2].

The design: twenty-four males were randomly assigned to AX12 (12 mg/day; n=8), AX36 (36 mg/day; n=9), or placebo (PLC; n=7). After 4 weeks of supplementation, blood samples were collected at rest, immediately after, and at 2, 24, 48 and 72 hours following eccentric arm exercise [2]. Outcomes were muscle damage markers, total antioxidant status, and a subjective marker of muscle pain [2].

GroupInterventionnSampling schedule
AX12Astaxanthin 12 mg/day, 4 weeks8Rest; immediately post; 2, 24, 48, 72 h post eccentric arm exercise
AX36Astaxanthin 36 mg/day, 4 weeks9Rest; immediately post; 2, 24, 48, 72 h post eccentric arm exercise
PLCPlacebo7Rest; immediately post; 2, 24, 48, 72 h post eccentric arm exercise

The population here is trained or untrained males; the evidence block does not state training status beyond sex and group sizes. The time-course sampling at 2, 24, 48 and 72 hours is the standard window in which CK and LDH are tracked after eccentric damage, though the record as quoted does not enumerate which specific markers were assayed beyond "muscle damage markers" [2].

Chickpea protein hydrolysate and muscle damage and inflammatory plasma markers during a football tournament

A randomized, placebo-controlled crossover trial evaluated the safety and potential beneficial effects of a beverage containing chickpea protein hydrolysate in football players [3]. Participants received the chickpea protein hydrolysate beverage and a matched protein-containing placebo beverage during two four-week intervention periods separated by a two-week washout [3].

Assessed domains included biochemical safety parameters, antioxidant status, inflammatory biomarkers, lipid profile, lipid peroxidation, muscle damage markers, dietary intake, and body composition [3]. The population is football players, and the model is a competitive tournament rather than a single laboratory bout — a distinction that matters when comparing marker kinetics across studies, since tournament schedules produce repeated rather than isolated damaging stimuli.

Comparing the three models

CitationIntervention classPopulationDamage modelMarkers named
[1]Pterostilbene cocrystal + silybin + nicotinamide ribosideNot specified in evidence blockHigh-intensity exercise sessionMDA (primary); 8-OHdG, F2-isoprostanes, FRAP, GSH/GSSG, SOD, CAT, GPx, hsCRP, MCP-1, IL-6, LDH, CK, cortisol, creatinine
[2]Astaxanthin24 malesEccentric arm exerciseMuscle damage markers; total antioxidant status; subjective muscle pain
[3]Chickpea protein hydrolysateFootball playersFootball tournamentMuscle damage markers; inflammatory biomarkers; lipid peroxidation; antioxidant status

Why LDH and CK appear together

LDH and CK are grouped as muscle damage markers in the ccPT-SIL-NR record [1], and "muscle damage markers" is the phrasing used in both the astaxanthin and chickpea protein hydrolysate records [2][3]. The evidence block does not provide reference ranges, assay methods, or units for either enzyme, and no claim about their diagnostic performance should be inferred from these records.

Oxidative markers as secondary readouts

MDA is the primary outcome in the ccPT-SIL-NR trial, with 8-OHdG and F2-isoprostanes as secondary indices of oxidative DNA damage and lipid peroxidation respectively [1]. Total antioxidant capacity is measured by FRAP assay in that record [1] and is described as "total antioxidant status" in the astaxanthin record [2]. The glutathione ratio GSH/GSSG and the enzyme activities SOD, CAT and GPx complete the antioxidant panel in [1].

Inflammatory markers measured alongside damage markers

hsCRP, MCP-1 and IL-6 are listed as inflammatory markers in the ccPT-SIL-NR record [1], and "inflammatory biomarkers" are listed among the assessed domains in the chickpea protein hydrolysate trial [3]. The evidence block does not report any measured concentrations or between-group differences for these analytes.

Evidence limitations on this page

All three citations are registered study records. None of the quoted material reports completed results, effect sizes, confidence intervals, or statistical significance. No animal-only or in vitro data is supplied in the evidence block for these compounds or markers; where a claim is not supported by the block, it has been left out. The astaxanthin record notes that prior research on exercise-induced muscle damage and exercise capacity reported inconsistent results [2], which is the only statement in the block about the state of the wider literature.

If you are reading this for personal health reasons

The materials described here are sold for laboratory research use only, and we do not provide dosing, administration or medical guidance of any kind. Nothing on this page is a recommendation to take any compound. Anyone considering a compound for themselves should speak to a licensed clinician.

Sources

WhatsApp